Annual “Break the Sound Barrier” Ski Race

18th Annual “Break the Sound Barrier” Ski Race 

Thanks to all who skied, sponsored, donated, and participated in our event at Mt. Abram! It was certainly a banner year!  

A young child in fleece pajamas on skisThe 18th Annual “Break the Sound Barrier” Ski Race & Winter Fest included 10 Teams participating in the Ski Race and our Annual Winterfest with the new Hearing Buddies program where teens and younger children enjoyed -outdoor games, snow decorating, fire pit with s’mores, hot chocolate, and more. This year’s event hit the marks for fundraising and fun-racing with perfect skiing conditions and a great turnout. Best of all, we reconnected with old friends and welcomed new faces. 

Check out the Individual and Team race times, here. 


See the full gallery of photos here.
Photos from this year’s event will be posted soon!

Photos taken by Cunningham Photography.

A BIG Thank You to our 2020 generous sponsors! 

Albin, Randall & Bennett
Advanced Bionics
Bangor Savings
Cochlear Americas
Irwin Tardy & Morris
Martin’s Point Health Care
Maine Medical Center
Marles Holding, LLC
Marsh Agency
Murray Plumb & Murray
Porous Technologies  
Q4 Direct Marketing
Stormwater Compliance
New England Development
Red Sox Foundation
Sanford Flooring
Sevee & Maher Engineers, Inc.
Signia Hearing Aids, Inc.
West Gray Creative
Tyler Technologies


Fastest Team (Gross): Martin’s Point (1:41)
(Wai-Houng Leung, Jordan Ouellette, Sara Freedman, Eric Gun)
Fastest Team (Net After Donations): Team ARB (1:40)
(Bart Haag, Karla Brannen, & Matt Spera)
Fastest Adult Male Skier: Nathan Marles (19.83)
Fastest Adult Female Skier: Jordan Ouellette (21.18)
Fastest Male 14-18: Sam Deacon (22.23)
Fastest Female 14-18: 
Emily Girard (23.95)
Fastest Male Under 14: Shamus Morrison (27.23)
Fastest Female Under 14: Rosa Perlut (31.48)
Top Fundraising Team: Captain Bart Haag of Team Albin, Randall & Bennett
Best Wipeout: Gabe Daniels (Knight Time Skiin’)
Best Teen Costume: Nick Cohen (Smells Like Team Spirit)
Best Adult Costume: Oren Kuhn (Stormwater)
Best Team Costumes: Sevee & Maher (Goldilocks & the 3 Bears), Murray, Plumb & Murray (Onsies)
Best Cheerer: Parker Wellman
Super Senior: Lianne Novick

2020 Teams

Albin, Randall & Bennett (Karla Brannen, Matt Spera, Bart Haag, Benjamin Lipton)
Mo-SKI-toes (Zack Daniels, Emily Girard, Marc Girard, Shayla Harriman)
Martin’s Point (Wai-Houng Leung, Jordan Ouellette, Sara Freedman, Eric Gun)
MPM (Audrey O’Meara, Rosa Perlut, Nico Perlut, Enzo Perlut)
Sevee & Maher (Abby Latulippe, Molly Glover, Shaun Morrison, Shamus Morrison)
Smells Like Team Spirit (Nick Cohen, Sam Deacon, Jennifer Long, Gregg Cohen)
Team Novick (Tina Novick, Sarah Novick, Ella Novick, Lianne Novick)
Stormwater (Gregg Novick, Nathan Marles, Oren Kuhn, & Justin Edwards)
Pfeifle Flyers (Sam Pfeifle, Ruby Pfeifle, Gus Pfeifle, Luke Pfeifle)
Knight Time Skiin’ (Gabe Daniels, Aubrey Denico)