Annual “Break the Sound Barrier” Ski Race

Join us on Sunday, March 3, 2019 for our annual ski race fundraiser in our 17th year!

The 17th Annual Break the Sound Barrier Ski Race! 

The 17th Annual “Break the Sound Barrier” Ski Race & Winter Fest will again be held at Mt. Abram, in Greenwood.  Last year we moved the event to Mt. Abram and added Winterfest activities with family friendly outdoor games, sledding, fire pit, hot chocolate, and s’mores. It was a huge success so we’re doing it again and hope you can join us. Check back soon for team registration, sponsorship opportunities and a donation link.

TEAM REGISTRATION – Sign up your team today! Don’t miss out on this fun day of skiing, winterfest activities – all while raising money to support hear ME now!

Team Registration Form (fillable pdf)
Team Registration Google Form

DONATE TODAYSupport your favorite ski team here!

SPONSORSHIP: *If you would like to join in on the fun and support hear ME now as a sponsor for our 2019 event, check out our sponsorship information here:Sponsorship Information


See the full gallery of photos here.

2018 event photos taken by Cunningham Photography.

A BIG Thank You to our 2018 generous sponsors! 

Albin, Randall & Bennett
Coastal Landscaping
Cochlear Americas
Irwin Tardy & Morris
Martin’s Point Health Care
Mercy Hospital  
Murray Plumb & Murray
Porous Technologies  
Q4 Marketing
Stormwater Compliance
New England Development
Red Sox Foundation
Signia Hearing Aids, Inc.
Tyler Technologies

The 2018 event hit the marks for fundraising and fun-racing with perfect skiing conditions and a great turnout. Best of all, we reconnected with old friends and welcomed new faces!

Individual ski race results.


Fastest Team (Gross): Blue Mooners (3:38)
(Ella Novick, Oren Kuhn, Gregg Novick, Tina Novick)
Fastest Team (Net After Donations): Albin, Randall & Bennett (-15.9) (Bart Haag, Karla Brennan, John Armbuster, Benjamin Lipton)
Fastest Male Skier: Charlie Burnham (24.37)
Fastest Female  Skier: Ella Novick (24.16)
Top Fundraising Team: Captain Bart Haag of Team Albin, Randall & Bennett
Fastest 14 & under: Jocelyn Nivus (28.57) and Shayla Harriman (29.88)
Best Wipeout: John Armbuster (Team Albin, Randall & Bennett)
Best Child Costume: Henry & Jane Sweet (Team Jane)
Best Adult Costume: Oren Kuhn (Waldo) (Blue Mooners)
Best Cheerer: Lucas Ng & Evan Chojnowski

2018 Teams

Albin, Randall & Bennett (Bart Haag, Karla Brannen, John Armbuster, Benjamin Lipton)
Blue Mooners (Gregg, Tina, Ella Novick, Oren Kuhn)
hear ME now (Ben Dawson, Zack Daniels, Nick Cohen,  Adelaide Roskelley)
Skidaddle (Shayla Harriman, Marc and Emily Girard, Aubrey Denico)
Sevee & Maher (Charlie Burnham, Alex Burnham, Jack Burnham, Abby Latulippe)
Team Jane (Laura Sweet, Kellie Sullivan, Lauren Brickmore, Jake Brown)
Team Mt. Abram (Sials Shutty, Ingrid Janicki, Elsa Janicki, Jocelyn Nivus, Corinne Nivus)
Team Myler (Reed Silvers, Cass Myler, GiGi Myler)